
• Person lacks basic hygiene,
adequate food or clean,
appropriate clothing

• Person lives in a home that
is cluttered, filthy, or in
disrepair

• Person exhibits unexplained
or uncharacteristic changes
in behavior

• Person has unexplained
fractures, bruises, welts,
cuts, sores or burns

• Person has unexplained
sexually transmitted
disease(s)

• Person with dementia is
left unsupervised

• Person is confined to bed
without care and/or has
untreated “bed” sores

• Person’s money is controlled
by caregiver, but caregiver
is failing to provide for the
individual’s needs

• Person is isolated by a
caregiver

• Caregiver is verbally
aggressive or demeaning
to the person
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Elder Abuse, Self-Neglect: 
How to Spot + Report It

The Rhode Island Office of Healthy Aging (OHA) works to 
empower older adults and those with disabilities to age 
healthfully and happily and to feel safe in their homes and 
communities.  We provide an array of programs and 
supports to people, including elder protective services. 

The World Health Organization defines elder abuse as an 
act, or lack of action, occurring within a relationship where 
there is an expectation of trust, which causes harm or 
distress to an older person. This includes physical, sexual, 
psychological, and emotional abuse; financial, material 
abuse; abandonment; and neglect.

Our Elder Rights & Safety (ERS) unit investigates complaints of 
abuse and self-neglect of people 60 years of age and older. 
ERS works collaboratively with law enforcement agencies on 
suspected cases of financial exploitation.

Also, ERS offers a volunteer guardianship program for 
persons in need of a healthcare decision maker and who 
reside in long-term care facilities.

Unfortunately, cases of elder abuse and exploitation are on 
the rise – nationally and in Rhode Island. This phenomenon is 
fueled, in part, by the ‘age wave.’ Today, nearly 17 percent 
of Rhode Island residents are 65 or older, versus 10 percent 
nationally. By 2040, one in four Rhode Islanders will be part of 
this age cohort. 

State law requires any person who suspects elder abuse, 
exploitation, or self-neglect to report it to OHA. Adults have 
the right to make choices, good or bad, about their lives. 
OHA does not have the authority to separate a person from
other people or places. 

Suspected abuse in a long-term care setting should be 
reported to Rhode Island’s Long-Term Care Ombudsman at 
401-785-3340.

Report suspected elder abuse 

and/or self-neglect anytime to:

401-462-0555
Reports can be filed anonymously

SIGNS



Founded Elder Abuse & Self-Neglect Cases
Source: DEA, Statewide Data 

Source: National Center on Elder Justice

Report suspected elder abuse 
and/or self-neglect to: 401-462-0555
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Cases of abuse 
and exploitation 
are on the rise, as 
our population 
rapidly ages. 

The number of 
substantiated 
elder abuse cases 
in Rhode Island 
increased by more 
than 30 percent 
between 2014   
and 2018. 

BY THE NUMBERS

Seniors who 
experience abuse or 
neglect are twice as 
likely to be hospitalized 
as their peers

Each year, one in 
10 Americans age 
60 years or older 
experience abuse 

Elder abuse and/or neglect has a 
significant impact on our communities, 
families and economy

Estimates of elder 
financial abuse and 
fraud cases range 
from $2.9 billion to 
$36.5 billion annually

Elder abuse is 
underreported: an 
estimated one in 23 
cases are known to 
authorities 


